Skip to content


One Vision: Working together to strengthen the standard of excellence in eye care.


IJCAHPO recognizes many accredited institutions that train and educate their ophthalmic students according to rigorous academic standards. Candidates who have graduated from accredited training programs have a head-start in becoming certified by IJCAHPO.

Primary Assessment and Accreditation Bodies

International Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology (IJCAHPO)
Email: [email protected]
Phone: +1.011.651.731.2944
Address: 2025 Woodlane Drive • Saint Paul, MN 55125-2998 USA

Accreditation Levels

Ophthalmic training programs can achieve accreditation at three different levels:

  • Ophthalmic Assistant (Clinical & Non-Clinical) Program (Entry Level)
  • Ophthalmic Technician Program (Intermediate Level)
  • Ophthalmic Medical Technologist Program (Advanced Level)

International Accredited Programs

IJCAHPO recognizes these internationally accredited programs around the world.

EICO/PET at Magrabi Foundation
Magrabi Hospital
Cairo, Egypt

Pacific Eye Institute
Suva, Fiji

Vision Technician Program
LV Prasad Eye Institute
Hyderabad, India

Community Ophthalmic Technician Program
Ogun State College of Health Technology/Eye Foundation Centre
Ogun State, Nigeria

Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences Academic Clinical Program
Singapore National Eye Centre (SNEC)

standards and guidelines cover page

Standards & Guidelines

The IJCAHPO International Advisory Council is pleased to present the International Accreditation Standards and Guidelines for Ophthalmic Medical Personnel Education and Training Programs.

Ophthalmic training programs are encouraged to make application and complete the self-assessment process, striving to meet or exceed these Standards and Guidelines. Current internationally accredited ophthalmic training programs will be required to be in complete compliance at their next regularly scheduled comprehensive accreditation review. Accredited programs will be required to file an annual report that indicates progress towards compliance.

self study cover page

Self-Study Completion

Accreditation involves a process that begins with the program conducting a self-assessment and submitting a self-study report to IJCAHPO. IJCAHPO then performs a peer review and qualified site visitors are sent to verify the program’s compliance with the Standards & Guidelines.