Skip to content


Commit to meeting professional standards and delivering high-quality patient care through IJCAHPO certification—an avenue for employment advancement, recognition, and potential pay increases.

Core Certifications

IJCAHPO certification validates your knowledge, skills, and abilities in specific content areas as Allied Ophthalmic Personnel (AOP). Our three core levels of certification comprise a solid ladder for progressive career development.

Entry Level

Certified Ophthalmic Assistant


The COA is the entry level core designation designed to start eye care professionals on the path to success.

Intermediate Level

Certified Ophthalmic Technician


The COT certification designation is designed to test the COA who intends to advance their career in the eye care field, or the COT program graduate.

Advanced Level

Certified Ophthalmic Medical Technologist


The COMT certification designation recognizes accomplished eye care professionals who have progressed through the COA and COT levels or are COMT training program graduates.

Specialty Certifications

Show employers and patients you are dedicated to your specialized skillset through IJCAHPO’s specialty certifications.

Ophthalmic Surgical Assisting


The OSA specialty certification exemplifies knowledge in the procedures and instrumentation necessary to assist in ophthalmic surgical suites.

Certified Diagnostic Ophthalmic Sonographer


The CDOS credential signifies AOP who have a knowledge base in the principles and instrumentation needed to perform eye examinations using high frequency sound waves and perform B-scan sonography.

Registered Ophthalmic Ultrasound Biometrist


The ROUB credential signifies AOP who perform A-scan biometry of the eye and have a knowledge base in biometry and physics.

Corporate Certified Ophthalmic Assistant


The CCOA credential offers recognition to corporate employees, of companies that supply products and services to the ophthalmic profession, that they have the essential knowledge in both ophthalmology and industry technology.

Ophthalmic Scribe Certification


The OSC certification is designed to test the knowledge of AOP who create and maintain patient medical records under the supervision of an ophthalmologist.

Certificates of Completion

Designed to test your knowledge in specific areas, IJCAHPO’s Certificates of Completion validate your skills and expertise.

Contact Lens

The Contact Lens Fitting Certificate of Completion is designed to test the knowledge of AOP who specialize in contact lens fitting under the supervision of an ophthalmologist.

Low Vision

The Low Vision Certificate of Completion is designed to test the knowledge of AOP who specialize in working in low vision/vision rehabilitation clinics under the supervision of an ophthalmologist.

Visual Fields

The Visual Fields Certificate of Completion is designed to test the knowledge of AOP in the visual field areas of procedures, measurements, screening, pathological defects, perimeters, and confrontation testing.

Ophthalmic Surgical Processor


The OSP Certificate of Completion offers a verification of ophthalmic surgical technician knowledge. The OSP is an eligibility pathway for non-ophthalmologic trained personnel and ophthalmic personnel who are not certified by IJCAHPO in the areas of ophthalmic surgical assisting and ophthalmic scrub/sterilization to achieve the OSA certification.

Certified Refractionist Certificate of Completion (COMING SOON)


The CR Certificate of Completion is designed to test the knowledge of AOP in the area of refraction which is a testing procedure that uses optical principles and specialized equipment to measure the focusing characteristics of an eye, or the refractive error.