The Essential Credentials for Eye Care Professionals

Our mission is to promote global eye health and prevent blindness through training program accreditation, education and the certification of Allied Ophthalmic Personnel.


Job Task Analysis/Certification Examination Update

The Certified Ophthalmic Assistant (COA), Certified Ophthalmic Technician (COT), and Certified Ophthalmic Medical Technologist (COMT) multiple-choice examinations were updated in August 2018.

As medical technology and ophthalmic medical personnel duties change, JCAHPO strives to improve and maintain relevance of our educational offerings and certification examinations for current and future certificants. To established standards of performance and develop future examinations, JCAHPO conducts a job-task analysis (JTA) survey every 5 years. The results of the job-task analysis are the basis for the development of the updated core examinations.

Certification Criteria

Candidates for JCAHPO certification must hold a high school diploma or equivalency. In addition, JCAHPO has established specific educational and work requirements for candidates applying for certification at each level. In general, candidates are eligible for certification if they have completed one of the following:

The JCAHPO certification process is examination-based. Examinations are based on research conducted every five years to determine the typical tasks performed by ophthalmic assistants, technicians, medical technologists, and surgical assistants. These tasks are grouped into categories, and the examinations are designed to include questions pertaining to each category. Click the following links for more information on exam content:

Please Note: Examination Applications will be processed within 2 to 4 weeks of receipt of the application.

IJCAHPO Core Certification Criteria Book

IJCAHPO Certification Criteria Including Specialty Certifications

The links below will take you to the specific pages in our handbooks
to assist you in finding the information you need.


Independent Home Study Courses Scheduling & Taking the Examination
Examination Application (PDF) Certification Fee Schedule and Timeline
Standards, Procedures, and Sanctions Computer-Administered Examination Sites

COA Eligibility Requirements
COA Examination Content
Core Examination Content Area Breakdown

COT Eligibility Requirements
COT Examination Content
Core Examination Content Area Breakdown

COMT Eligibility Requirements
COMT Examination Content
Core Examination Content Area Breakdown

CCOA Eligibility Requirements
CCOA Examination Content

ROUB Eligibility Requirements
ROUB Examination Content

CDOS Eligibility Requirements
CDOS Examination Content
CDOS Case Log

OSA Eligibility Requirements
OSA Examination Content
OSA SA3 and SA4 Eligibility Surgical Case Log

Ophthalmic Scribe Certification (OSC) Examination
OSC Eligibility Requirements
Available online at EyeCareCE.org

Retirement Credential – NEW