The Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology (JCAHPO) was established as a not-for-profit organization in 1969 to offer certification and continuing education opportunities to ophthalmic allied health personnel. Currently more than 27,000 people in the U.S., Canada, and around the world hold a JCAHPO certification.


To promote global eye health and prevent blindness through training program accreditation, education and the certification of Allied Ophthalmic Personnel.
In pursuit of its mission, IJCAHPO will bring results in four areas:

  1. Promote the establishment of AOP training programs
  2. Develop and implement global accreditation standards for training programs
  3. Develop and encourage adoption of international standards for certification
  4. Promote education, training, and continuing education resources for AOP

Help Desk

Remote support click here.

2019 IJCAHPO Value Report

Download a PDF of IJCAHPO’s 2019 Value Report.

IJCAHPO Certification Standards of Ethics
Scope of Practice


IJCAHPO is managed by, or under the direction and subject to the oversight of, a Board of Directors (the “Board”) consisting of seventeen (17) Directors.

An Advisory Councilor is selected from each of the Regular and Affiliate Organizations. The purpose of the Council is to facilitate dialogue, support IJCAHPO’s activities on issues related to allied ophthalmic personnel (AOP), and provide input/advice to the Board of Directors on such matters as the Board of Directors may refer to the Council.

Organizational Council Representatives


American Academy of Ophthalmology Richard C. Allen, MD, PhD

American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Brian J. Forbes, MD, PhD

American Glaucoma Society Gayle Howard, MD

American Ophthalmological Society Teresa Chen, MD

American Society of Cataract & Refractive Surgery with
American Society of Ophthalmic Administrators
Vasudha Panday, MD

American Society of Retina Specialists Edward S. Lim, MD

Association of Technical Personnel in Ophthalmology Amy Jost, BS, COMT, CCRC

Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology Terri L. Young, MD, MBA

Association of Veterans Affairs Ophthalmologists April Maa, MD

Canadian Ophthalmological Society Femida Kherani, MD, FRCSC, DABO

Canadian Society of Ophthalmic Medical
Warren Whitford, COMT

Consortium of Ophthalmic Training Programs Carla Blackburn, COMT, ROUB

Eye and Contact Lens Association Joann Kang, MD

North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society Jade Schiffman, MD, FAAO, FAAN

Society of Military Ophthalmologists Gary L. Legault, MD, MAJ (P), MC

Affiliate Organizational Council Representatives  

American Association of Certified Orthoptists Sarah Whitecross, OC(C), CO

American Orthoptic Council Omondi L. Nyong’o, MD

Ophthalmic Photographers’ Society Holly Cheshier, COMT, CRA, OCT-C

Philippine Academy of Ophthalmology Open

The Canadian Orthoptic Society Maria Pryde, MSc, OC(C), COMT

Pan-American Association of Ophthalmology Open

Board of Directors
* Neil Choplin, MD

President Elect * James Tsai, MD, MBA, FACS

Secretary * Lynn D. Anderson, PhD, CEO

Treasurer * Michael Stewart, MD

Immediate Past President * William F. Astle, MD, FRCSC, Dipl. ABO

Secretary of Education Christine McDonald, COA, ROUB, OSC, COE, CTC, OCS

Secretary of Certification Natalie Loyacano, COMT, ROUB, OSA

Secretary of International Relations Karl Golnik, MD, MEd

Secretary of Public Affairs Eydie Miller-Ellis, MD

Public Advisor Jeannine Bayard, BSN, MPH

Director-at-Large Steven J. Lichtenstein, MD, FAAP, FACS

Director-at-Large William Mieler, MD

Director-at-Large Barbara T. Harris, PA, MBA, COT, OSC

Director-at-Large Kent Rose, COMT

Foundation President William Ehlers, MD

International Councilor Prashant Garg, MBBS, MS

Legal Counsel Paul Quast, Esq.

*Executive Committee