Skip to content

Virginia S. Boyce Humanitarian Award

The Virginia S. Boyce Humanitarian Award was established in her name to recognize an ophthalmic assistant, ophthalmic technician, or ophthalmic medical technologist who demonstrates leadership and a commitment to volunteerism and public service, going above and beyond their technical daily duties to do so.

Nominations accepted January 1 to April 30

Harold A. Stein, MD, FRCSC* Prize for Best Scientific Paper

IJCAHPO certificants and non-certificants are invited to submit an original scientific paper on any ophthalmic topic of their choice (i.e., glaucoma, contact lenses, dry eye, animal eyes, cataracts, macular degeneration, etc.).

*Harold A. Stein, MD, FRCSC, was the president of IJCAHPO in 1986 and 1987, and the author of numerous publications, including the ever popular “Ophthalmic Assistant/A Text for Allied & Associated Ophthalmic Personnel” now in its 11th edition. To perpetuate the prize, Dr. Stein donated royalties from specific books he authored to the JCAHPO Education and Research Foundation. Dr. Stein passed away in 2021.

Applications accepted January 1 to June 30