Scholarships, Grants, and Awards Available


Jennie B. Busch Education and Certification Scholarships

American Glaucoma Society Logo

Susan Busch, BA, COMT, has worked hard to support eye care technicians and has been a member of the Association of Technical Personnel in Ophthalmology (ATPO) since 1992. In honor of her mother, Jennie B. Busch, Susan established a scholarship fund as a tribute to Jennie’s dedication to Susan’s career as an Allied Ophthalmic Personnel (AOP). In recent years, Susan served on the ATPO Board of Directors, its Marketing and Education Committee, and as the ATPO National Chair of the Regional Mentor Program. Since 1992, Susan has served as a lecturer and workshop instructor at IJCAHPO’s Annual Continuing Education (ACE) meeting and led the COMT Practical Exam Review Sessions for technicians. In 2013, Susan represented IJCAHPO on a trip to Cameroon with Orbis International, where she was part of a team that provided training to the local eye care team.


Scholarships vary; see the application for details.

Continuing Education Grant

Grants are awarded as vouchers to be used towards IJCAHPO continuing education program registration fees. Amounts vary up to full registration; see the application for details.

Accepted January 1 to July 31

Harold A. Stein, MD, FRCSC* Prize for Best Scientific Paper

Harold A. Stein, MD, FRCSC

All Allied Ophthalmic Personnel (AOP) are invited to submit an original scientific paper on any ophthalmic topic of their choice (i.e., glaucoma, contact lenses, dry eye, animal eyes, cataracts, macular degeneration, etc.). See the application for details.


*Harold A. Stein, MD, FRCSC, was the president of IJCAHPO in 1986 and 1987, and is the author of numerous publications, including the ever popular “Ophthalmic Assistant/A Text for Allied & Associated Ophthalmic Personnel” now in its 10th edition. To perpetuate the prize, Dr. Stein donates royalties from specific books he has authored to the JCAHPO Education and Research Foundation.

Accepted January 1 to June 30

Tyree Carr, MD, Certification Grants


For more than 20 years, Dr. Carr provided rich and robust leadership within IJCAHPO. He served in leadership positions as Treasurer (2004, 2005, 2006), President-Elect (2009-2010), President (2011-2012) and Past President (2013-2014). He also served on the Education Committee, Finance & Audit Committee, and as Treasurer of the JCAHPO Education and Research Foundation.


In 2017, Dr. Carr gave a generous gift to the JCAHPO Education and Research Foundation to support certification grants to Allied Ophthalmic Personnel (AOP) by IJCAHPO.


The first grants awarded in 2020.


Phil H. Weber Memorial Scholarships


Phil H. Weber, COMT, was born in Memphis, TN, and grew up in various parts of the country. He graduated from high school in Abington, PA, in 1966, then served in the U.S. Navy Submarine Service. In 1976, he graduated from Rutgers University, and in 1980 from Georgetown University Ophthalmic Medical Technologist Program with honors.


Phil was President of the Association of Technical Personnel in Ophthalmology (ATPO) and the Ophthalmic Photographers’ Society (OPS), and was presented with the ATPO Fellow Award in 1993 for outstanding contributions to the organization. He was an instructor in ophthalmic photography at the Georgetown University Medical School. His IJCAHPO activities included chairing the Ophthalmic Technologist Advisory Committee, serving as the ATPO representative from 1988 until his death in 1995, and serving as Secretary of Certification.


Scholarships vary towards an IJCAHPO approved training program, certification advancement or continuing education. Scholarships are only available for ATPO members. See the application for details.


Accepted January 1 to July 31

American Glaucoma Society Grant

American Glaucoma Society Logo

The American Glaucoma Society is generously funding grants for Allied Ophthalmic Personnel (AOP) seeking certification. Anyone may apply, but the American Glaucoma Society Certification Grant Selection Committee will give preference to Ophthalmic Technicians that work in a Glaucoma clinic. Applicants must complete an application form and submit a brief essay or short video.


Grants are awarded as vouchers to be used towards discounts for an IJCAHPO certification examination fee. Amounts vary; see the application for details.

Accepted January 1 to April 30

Barbara Cassin Scholarship

Barbara Cassin

Barbara Cassin, CO, was the Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of Florida. She was a major contributor to ophthalmic education through many endeavors, including her books “Fundamentals for Ophthalmic Medical Personnel” and “The Dictionary of Eye Terminology”. This scholarship is to honor her legacy and the impact she had on her students. The scholarship amount varies, and is for a student in a COMT training program; see the application for details.

Accepted January 1 to April 30

Marina V. (Evans) Armstrong Memorial Scholarships

Marina Evans

Marina V. (Evans) Armstrong, COMT, was the daughter of Helga (Kemp) and Peter Y. Evans, MD. Dr. Evans was one of IJCAHPO’s founding members, IJCAHPO’s President from 1980-1981, and its first Executive Vice President from 1981-1995. Marina graduated from Georgetown University in 1979 as an ophthalmic technologist and became certified by IJCAHPO as a Certified Ophthalmic Medical Technologist (COMT). Marina worked at Chester County Eye Care in West Chester, PA, for many years.


Learning and teaching others was a passion of Marina’s and the family set up a scholarship fund for students in training programs, in honor of her legacy.


The first scholarships awarded in 2020.


Roger P. Harrie, MD, Education Scholarship

Roger P. Harrie, MD, is an ophthalmologist in Salt Lake City, UT, with over 45 years of experience. Dr. Harrie graduated from Cornell University Medical College in 1974, and tells about this experience in his most recent book, “Doctor, I have an ant in my eye!: Becoming an eye doctor.” Dr. Harrie is also a clinical professor of ophthalmology at the John A. Moran Eye Center. He practices comprehensive ophthalmology with a special interest in ocular ultrasound. He has written a number of articles for scientific journals, several book chapters and a few books.


Two to four scholarships will be awarded, upon available funding, for students in an accredited training program. See the application for details. Please check with IJCAHPO for a list of qualified programs.


Virginia S. Boyce Humanitarian Award

Virginia S. Boyce

The Virginia S. Boyce Humanitarian Award was established in her name to recognize an ophthalmic assistant, ophthalmic technician, or ophthalmic medical technologist who demonstrates leadership and a commitment to volunteerism and public service, going above and beyond their technical daily duties to do so. Nominations are accepted January 1 to April 30 of each year. See the application for details.

Accepted January 1 to April 30

Training Program Scholarships

Programs must be approved, accredited or have received a Letter of Review, and are active educational programs for ophthalmic assistants, technicians, medical technologists or orthoptists for the current academic year.


Schools must publicize the availability of educational scholarships to potential candidates. Scholarships vary; see the application for details.

Accepted by March 1 or June 1